Uncategorized

Sometimes we need a break

Upon thinking of what I want to blog about this week I thought of my time in World of Warcraft lately and in all honesty, I haven’t been playing as much this week. In fact, I’m on a bit of a break. Not for long, I still love the game, but I am learning to take small breaks especially before a big patch or expansion. We all know Patch 7.3 is coming and even though I have another alt I would like to level, I’m just not in the mood right now to do it. There are still things to do in game, such as work on emmissaries so I can get those mounts (I still have none of them), but instead I find myself playing a new game to me: Guild Wars 2. This is a blog on World of Warcraft so I won’t talk too much about GW2, but I am having an awesome time in it. It is just different enough from WoW so that I don’t feel like I’m playing a clone, yet still an MMORPG.

I tell you this to say that it is okay to take a break from the game so you don’t get burned out. I have been playing WoW since 2012 and in that time hardly played anything else. However, I have learned I need one more game in my arsenal so that I don’t feel obligated to play WoW because I have nothing else. In fact, when I played Rift instead of WoW I would feel guilty. Seriously? Yes, guilt. Upon looking at the devs on Twitter, I have learned not to feel guilty. Why? Because they play other games, too! Having two main games to play is enough for me so I won’t be dabbling in others. But it took me a few weeks to find Guild Wars 2. I tried LOTRO, went back to Rift, Black Desert Online, even Wizard 101. But after playing GW2 for a few days (and nights) I have found my game other than WoW. World of Warcraft will always be my main game, but Guild Wars 2 will be my secondary home.

In fact, GW2 has a new expansion coming out next month so now is the perfect time to jump in. Guild Wars 2 is free to play, but you need to buy the expansion in order to get all the game has to offer. So, I will definitely be purchasing the new expansion, but in the meantime I can level to my heart’s content and explore all that Tyria has to offer.

1 thought on “Sometimes we need a break”

Leave a Reply

